Log in

2017 CGS Award Opportunities

Click here for the CIHR - CGS Travel Grant Information

Ronald Cape Distinguished Service Award

Each year the Society presents an award at its Annual Meeting to recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the health care of older adults in Canada.  We are seeking nominations for the Ronald Cape Distinguished Service Award for 2017, to be presented at the Annual Meeting in Toronto, April 20 - 22, 2017.   

To make a nomination please complete the nomination form and send it in to cgs@secretariatcentral.com by February 17, 2017, 12 noon EST. Receipt of the email will be acknowledged.

Previous recipients of this prestigious award include Drs Lynn Beattie, Peter McCracken, Rory Fisher, Cyril Gryfe, Colin Powell, Christopher Patterson, Irene Turpie, Duncan Robertson, Michael Gordon, David Hogan, Michael Borrie, Howard Bergman, Bill Dalziel, Barry Goldlist Kathy Lechelt, Kenneth Rockwood, Pat Montgomery, Jean Triscott and Angela Juby.

For further information please contact the CGS Head Office at: 1-855-415-3917 or cgs@secretariatcentral.com.

To view the nomination form, please click here

Peter McCracken Physician Innovator in Education Award

The CGS Peter McCracken Physician Innovator in Education Award recognizes a geriatric medicine or care of the elderly physician’s accomplishment in ONE of the following areas:  

  • Develops and uses innovative teaching and/or evaluation methods for geriatric medicine OR
  • Effectively uses strategies at a local or national level to increase geriatrics content in the curriculum OR
  • Develops strategies to increase interest in or recruitment to geriatric medicine OR
  • Conducts an innovative and/or influential research project related to geriatric medicine education

This award is not meant to be a “life-time achievement award”, but instead to recognize a single achievement within the last 3 years.

Number of awards per year: One

Award Criteria and Eligibility: Nominated by any member of the CGS

Nomination Process: Nominations may be submitted no later than February 17, 2017. 

Submit nomination package to cgs@secretariatcentral.com. Please include the following in the submission:

  • A letter of nomination from a CGS member outlining the nominee’s specific accomplishment in one of the 4 areas outlined above in the award description. 
  • Up to two letters of support from students, peers and colleagues.
  • A brief description (maximum 3 pages) of the innovation in education  from the nominee, plus supporting documents

Selection process: CGS Awards Committee and one member of the Education Committee will review applications and select the winner.  The Awards Committee will make their recommendations to the CGS Executive for final approval.  If there are no suitable winners, the committee reserves the right not to present the award in any given year.

Recognition of the recipient: The award will be presented at the CGS Annual Meeting held in Toronto April 20 – 22, 2017 by a representative of the CGS Education Committee.  The recipient will receive a certificate and a monetary award of $500.00

CFPC/CGS Award of Distinction in Health Care of the Elderly

The CFPC/CGS Award of Distinction in Health Care of the Elderly is supported by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) in collaboration with the Canadian Geriatrics Society (CGS), and recognizes contributions to quality patient-centered care of Canadian seniors. It recognizes leadership in care of a population that can be clinically challenging and where advocacy is an important part of care and is consistent with the theme of social accountability and equity.

Nominations for the CFPC/CGS Award of Distinction in Health Care of the Elderly are invited from CFPC members, Chapters, general practitioners, geriatricians, non-medical colleagues (e.g. any allied health professionals), and patients (including patients’ family members).  

A complete nomination must include a focused CV (maximum 5 pages).  Provide evidence of care in the form of descriptive materials, testimonials, and/or other documentation. Your nomination will be evaluated based on the information provided on the following:

1. Patient Care (family medicine expert, skilled clinician, communicator, patient-centered care)

2. Citizenship (collaborator, contribution to community/society)

3. Teaching & Education (undergraduate students, residents, fellows, CME, CPD, public education)

4. Scholarship (scientific discovery, innovation, Knowledge to Practice)

5. Leadership & Administration (medical or nonmedical organizations)

The members of the CFPC HCOE Program will collaborate with members of the CGS to recommend the recipient of this award to the national Honours and Awards Committee.

Nominate at: https://cfpc-grants-nominations.fluidreview.com/

Deadline to nominate: March 1, 2017, 4pm EST/EDT

For more information, please click here

OR contact the awards team at: awards@cfpc.ca

Nominees will be notified of results by email in July.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software