Log in

2019 CGS Call for Awards  

Call for Nominations: Peter McCracken Physician Innovator in Education Award


The CGS Peter McCracken Physician Innovator in Education Award recognizes a geriatric medicine or care of the elderly physician’s accomplishment in ONE of the following areas:  

  • Develops and uses innovative teaching and/or evaluation methods for geriatric medicine OR
  • Effectively uses strategies at a local or national level to increase geriatrics content in the curriculum OR
  • Develops strategies to increase interest in or recruitment to geriatric medicine OR
  • Conducts an innovative and/or influential research project related to geriatric medicine education

This award is not meant to be a “life-time achievement award”, but instead to recognize a single achievement within the last 3 years.

Number of awards per year: One

Award Criteria and Eligibility: Nominated by any member of the CGS

Nomination Process: Nominations may be submitted no later than February 12, 2019

Submit nomination package to cgs@secretariatcentral.com.

Please include the following in the submission:

  • A letter of nomination from a CGS member outlining the nominee’s specific accomplishment in one of the 4 areas outlined above in the award description. 
  • Up to two letters of support from students, peers and colleagues.
  • A brief description (maximum 3 pages) of the innovation in education  from the nominee, plus supporting documents

Selection process: CGS Awards Committee and Chair of the Education Committee will review applications and recommend a recipient for the award to the CGS Executive. If there are no suitable winners, the committee reserves the right not to present the award in any given year.

Recognition of the recipient: The award will be presented at the CGS Annual Meeting held in Halifax from May 2-4, 2019.  The recipient will receive a certificate and a monetary award of $500.00.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software