Log in

CGS Peter McCracken Physician Innovator in Education Award



The CGS Peter McCracken Physician Innovator in Education Award recognizes a geriatric medicine or care of the elderly physician’s accomplishment in ONE of the following areas:  

  • Develops and uses innovative teaching and/or evaluation methods for geriatric medicine OR
  • Effectively uses strategies at a local or national level to increase geriatrics content in the curriculum OR
  • Develops strategies to increase interest in or recruitment to geriatric medicine OR
  • Conducts an innovative and/or influential research project related to geriatric medicine education

This award is not meant to be a “life-time achievement award”, but instead to recognize a single achievement within the last 3 years.

Number of awards per year: One


Nominated by any member of the CGS.


Nominations must be made by a member of the CGS. Nominations may be submitted no later than January 31, 2021.  Submit nomination package to cgs@secretariatcentral.com

Please note:
All documents should be submitted in English, or an English translation must be provided.

Please include the following in the submission:

  • A letter of nomination from a CGS member outlining the nominee’s specific accomplishment in one of the 4 areas outlined above in the award description. 
  • Up to two letters of support from students, peers and colleagues.
  • A brief description (maximum 3 pages) of the innovation in education  from the nominee, plus supporting documents


CGS Awards Committee and Chair of the Education Committee will review applications and recommend a recipient for the award to the CGS Executive. If there are no suitable winners, the committee reserves the right not to present the award in any given year.


The award will be presented at the CGS Annual Meeting held virtually from May 26-May 28, 2021. The recipient will receive complimentary registration to the 2021 Annual Scientific Meeting .

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software